Wellness With Susan-1st Post

Welcome to the inaugural post of http://www.plexus4life.wordpress.com.  I am delighted that you chose to stop in today.  It will soon be very clear that I am not a seasoned blogger, but I do have several things that I would like to share with you, my reader.

First off, who am I?  My name is Susan Jackson and shall I say I am passed middle aged, but don’t consider myself a senior adult yet.  Although a native of Washington, D. C., I have lived in Mississippi since August of 1978.  I got to Mississippi because it was the birthplace of my father (along with Elvis, of course) and even though some folks think of me as a Yankee, I am definitely a Mississippi girl.

Willie and Susan Jackson
October 2011

My husband and I married in 1982 and have been blessed with three children, Bryant, Lane and Reagan.  All three are grown, have graduated from college and two of them are married.  We have two precious grandchildren and trust me, you will probably be bored with me raving about how smart, cute, creative,etc. they are.

Reagan Jackson, Bryant Jackson and Lane Jackson Connerley
My Heart and Soul

I have been truly blessed in my life and have always had everything I needed.  Now mind you, not everything I wanted, but definitely everything I needed.  There is one thing that we all need and want, but do not always have-and that is our health.  I have come to realize that many of us are our own worst enemies when it comes to health.

Let’s face it; we all know what to do–eat more fresh fruits and vegetables, eat lean meats, limit red meat, avoid fried foods, sugar, fat, drugs and alcohol, exercise more, get plenty of rest, get regular check-ups and drink more water.  But, how many of us really do that.  Obesity in the United State has almost reached epidemic proportions.  And we know that with obesity comes and increased risk of diabetes, heart disease, cancer, stroke, arthritis and depression.  8 out of 10 Americans over the age of 25 are overweight.  174 million Americans are overweight or obese.  25.8 million children and adults in the Unites States have diabetes.  In thinking about this I realized that it was sad that we have allowed this to happen to ourselves.  Americans have taken the good and ruined ourselves with it.

I guess I am old enough now to realize that we each have a responsibility to ourselves and to our families.  We could prevent or reverse some of this if we wanted to do so.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I know that there are people who have hereditary factors that will outweigh just about anything we do or don’t do to ourselves, but we need to work with our bodies and not against them.

This post is getting rather long and I don’t want to bore you, but I plan on using this forum to improve my own health, give you tips and suggestions and to be honest about my own wellness….yes, you will see and hear the good, the bad and the ugly.

Before I close I want to mention something that I was introduced to about a year ago.  A company called Plexus Worldwide which states that it is a breast health and healthy weight loss company.  Well, the weight loss piqued my interest.  While I had lost some weight during the previous 6 months to hearing about Plexus, I was at a standstill.  I read about, listened to testimonials about and talked to people about this company and their products.  I kind of accidentally ended up being an Ambassador for Plexus Worldwide, the makers of Plexus Slim and Plexus Accelerator that is taking the diet world by storm.  In the days to come, I will share more with you about Plexus, but until then if you want to check it out, go to http://63236.myplexusproducts.com.  You can learn about the products and you can also check out the business opportunity.

Until then, let’s remember that our bodies are a gift from God and treat them accordingly.  I know I have not cared for mine like I should.  Join with me on this journey as I work my way toward wellness.  You will discover that I love sayings and quotes.  I shall leave you with this one today.

We really DON’T have to get old.

About ForeverBeginsNow
I am a wife, mother and grandmother who lives in Mississippi. I am currently working a couple of days a week for my father-in-law at his storage facility. I spent most of my working time teaching in an elementary school. As the years have started to pass by I have realized that I need to be more dedicated to taking care of this body the good Lord gave me. I have come to love the word wellness and am striving to make it a meaningful part of my life. I hope you will join me on this journey as I try to improve my health and share some hints, suggestions and words of wisdom along the way.

Leave a comment